content

Mungyeong Coal Museum

Mungyeong Coal Museum

1378.JPG
  • 1379.JPG
  • 1380.JPG
  • 1381.jpg
  • 1382.JPG
  • 1383.JPG
  • 1384.JPG
  • 1385.jpg
  • 1386.jpg
  • 1387.JPG
  • 1388.JPG
Address112 Wangneung-gil Gaeun-eup Mungyeongsi
Phone054-571-2475
Contents

Location: 112 Wangneung-gil Gaeun-eup Mungyeong-si
              Homepage: http://coal.gbmg.go.kr

Size
   - Area size: 50,136㎡(15,166pyeong)
   - Artifacts: 6,397

Background of museum establishment

Coal is our only natural energy resource and has been contributing to the progress of the national economy by playing an essential role in providing fuel and boosting the national infrastructure industry. However, as alternative resources develop the demand for coal is decreasing. So this museum was built to preserve important historical data by collecting artifacts and documenting the history of the coal industry in one place and provide a learning environment to understand the coal industry as a whole for posterity.

Exhibition Hall
   -1st Floor exhibition room: Birth of the universe, and the formation of the earth, and the Paleozoic       age (origin of coal), coal-formation process - displayed chronologically.
   - 2nd floor exhibition room: coming out of the mine shaft, magic vision, tools and equipment
   - Underground Mine Exhibition Room: Actual underground mine which was used until the mine         closed.
   - Outdoor Exhibition Room: You can experience what it was like in an actual underground mine.

   - Miner's House Exhibit: A replica of a 25 pyeong miner's house which was built in 1970 during          the operation of the Eunsong mine.

Museum Hours and notification
▶ Mar. 1 - October 31: 09:00 - 18:00
▶ Nov. 1 - Feb. 28: 09:00 - 17:00 
▶ Last visitors allowed in 30 minutes before closing 
▶ Regular holidays are Jan.1, Seolnal and Chuseok, according to the lunar calendar.

Further Information
   - Coal Museum: 054-571-2475,  550-6424,6426

Mungyeong Coal Museum page QR Code
QRCODE

This QR Code contains information on the Mungyeong Coal Museum page